Notice to CUPE Local 15 Members at the Vancouver Museum, Vancouver Maritime Museum, and HR MacMillan Space Centre – Information Meeting and Ratification Vote

Monday, June 7, 2021, 12:00 – 1:30 p.m. on Zoom (link to be sent by email near the date)

A tentative agreement was reached between the Employer and the Union on May 18, 2021.  As you all may know we had intended to begin bargaining early this round and elected a Bargaining Committee in early 2020. Unknown to us all at the time we were on the eve of a global pandemic. This changed the course of bargaining as all three institutions struggled to keep the doors open. All of the Bargaining Committee members were either given layoff notice or were laid off. The Bargaining Committee regrouped in March of this year and discussed options for bargaining during this challenging time. Through a few very intense meetings, the committee opted to look at a rollover, or extension of the current collective agreement with no changes.

  • The extension of the current agreement ends on December 31, 2021.
  • No changes to the agreement.

The Bargaining Committee is ready to plan for the next round forthwith and begin the work of surveying members, analyzing the collective agreement, and preparing for bargaining with the goal of getting back to the bargaining table in late fall or early winter. Stay tuned for another meeting notice whereby the members will elect a Bargaining Committee.

The vote will be open, with representatives from your Bargaining Committee available, on the Zoom platform from 12:15 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. on Monday June 7, 2021. The Bargaining Committee is recommending that the members vote YES to accept the agreement.

All bargaining unit members are encouraged to attend the meeting and support your Bargaining Committee. A copy of the signed Memorandum of Agreement is included attached here.

If you do not receive union mail (i.e. the Members’ Voice) or emails at home please contact the union office to update your information at

In solidarity,

Berangere Descamps
Simon Fleming
Jillian Povarchook
Jonathan Teague
Gail Johnson (Staff Representative)